Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

“Home is where the heart is,” is a phrase commonly used, but not truly treasured. Oklahoma is my home and it does hold my heart. So, why do I find myself complaining about the slow pace of one of our biggest cities? Often describing Bricktown as “played out” and offering sparse amounts of fun for young adults like me.

When I think about it, there is a lot to do in this developing metropolis. I can’t mention OKC without bragging about the Thunder. I supposed the lack of court action due to the NBA lockout is the reason why I am feeling so nostalgic about my city. If you have the privilege of attending a Thunder game in the Chesapeake Energy Arena (perviously named the Ford Center) you know what I am talking about when I describe the electricity you feel when thousands of Oklahomans rally behind their state. Just getting a chance to watch Kevin Durant, the NBA’s top scorer, in action is enough to feel that warm fuzzy pride for your state.

I am also nostalgic about my time spent in the heart of Bricktown. I’ve had an unforgettably delicious prom dinner at Jazmoz Bourbon Street Cafe, graduated from high school is the modern Cox Convention Center and continue to make the trip back to catch a concert at the intimate Civic Center Music Hall.

I have decided that I need to give myself the chance to reflect on all this city has offered me and all the people who have joined together to build it into the place that it is. When I do I realize that, “home is where my heart is”.

November 15, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

